Constructing Excellence South West Logo

CE West Midlands Shortlist 2020

Find out more on how you can benefit from our membership

Join Now

Congratulations to those of you who have made it to the shortlist!

We have received many outstanding entries, giving our judges a real headache. Your entries demonstrate real performance improvement in the Midlands construction industry!

Our online awards ceremony will take place on 4th December at 2pm. Further information will be advised very soon so please look out for details.

2020 Short List

Building Project of the Year

  • Beatrice Shilling Building – Speller Metcalfe, Coventry University, BroadwayMalyan, Glancy Nicholls, CWA, Nolan Associates
  • Harborne Primary Annex- Atkins, Birmingham City Council, Balfour Beatty
  • Loxley Court- Probuild360 Limited, Probuild360 New Homes
  • Primark Birmingham- 3DReid, Primark, Mace Group, KMJM Consultants Ltd, Hoare Lea, TTG, WSP, Linesight
  • Selly Oak Shopping Park and Battery Park Student Development- Interserve Construction Ltd, Landsec, Glenn Howells Architects, Gleeds, Briggs & Forrester (MEP), BWB Consulting, FP Mcann
  • Three Snowhill- Ballymore, Gleeds, BAM Construction, Sidell Gibson Architects, Cundall, Weedon Architects, M&G, WSP
  • University House, University of Birmingham- Morgan Sindall Construction, University of Birmingham, Glancy Nicholls Architects, Mace Group, Acivico
  • University of Birmingham Teaching and Learning Building- Willmott Dixon, University of Birmingham, BDP Architects, RFL
  • University of Warwick Sports and Wellness Hub- Willmott Dixon, University of Warwick, David Morley Architects, Warwick Sports, Hadron Consulting

Civils Project of the Year Award

  • Centenary Square- Acivico Group, Birmingham City Council
  • Perry Barr and Witton Flood Risk Management Scheme- Turner & Townsend, Environment Agency, Jackson Civil Engineering, Jacobs,  Arcadis
  • Telford Central Replacement Footbridge- Balfour Beatty, Telford and Wrekin Council, Jacobs UK Ltd, SH Structures Ltd

Client of the Year Award

  • Citizen Development, Sales and Regeneration Team
  • Highways England Routes to Market: 21st Century Highways- Turner & Townsend, Highways England

Conservation & Rejuvenation Award

  • Primark Birmingham- 3DReid, Primark, KMJM Consultants Ltd, Hoare Lea, TTG, WSP, Linesight
  • The Elms Hotel- One Creative Environments Ltd. (One), Gemini Group, Revitalise

Digital Construction Award

  • Adoption of BIM within affordable housing- Citizen, Totally Modular, Arcus Consulting
  • Coventry University- Centre for Applied Low-Carbon Propulsion Technology- NG Bailey, Coventry University, BroadwayMalyan
  • DIGGER- The World Leading Digital Earthworks Platform- Eiffage Kier, HS2 Ltd, Finning UK & Ireland
  • One Creative Environments Ltd “The Virtual Mock-Up”- Multiplex
  • Twinned It- Using BIM in Building Safety- WHG, Deeo

G4C Future Leader Award

  • David Brownstein, Cundall
  • Francesca Wilkinson, Willmott Dixon
  • Georgia Williams, Eiffage Kier

Health, Safety & Wellbeing Award

  • Loxley Court- Probuild360 Ltd, Probuild360 New Homes
  • MBNL/Turner & Townsend SHEQ Assurance Managed Service
  • Stepnell Ltd

Innovation Award

  • DIGGER – The world leading Digital Earthworks Platform- Effiage kier, HS2 Ltd, Finning UK & Ireland
  • Sandwell Aquatics Centre- Building Community Wealth – Doocey Group, Western Power Distribution, Sandwell Council
  • The Compliance Workbook – Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Totally Modular Pilot Scheme for Citizen Housing – Totally Modular, Citizen Housing
  • Utilising BIM within the building operational phase – One Creative Environments Ltd,BESA, Northumbria University

Integration & Collaborative Working Award

  • Birmingham Schools Additional Pupil Places Programme- Balfour Beatty, Acivico Ltd,  Atkins
  • Carisbrooke Road, Sandwell – Seddon Construction Ltd, Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Eiffage Kier and Finning UK & Ireland- Eiffage Kier, HS2  Ltd, Finning UK & Ireland, C A Blackwell
  • Sister Dora Skills & Simulation Suite- Speller Metcalfe, University of Wolverhampton, Broadway Malyan, Faithful and Gould, Gleeds, Cundalls, Trad Structures, Couch Perry Wilkes

Offsite Award

  • Harborne Primary School – Innovare Systems Limited, Balfour Beatty
  • Luxury Eco Development, Clifford Chambers- WB Timber Innovations Ltd, SF Hood Developments Ltd
  • Totally Modular Pilot Scheme for Citizen Housing- Citizen Housing, Totally Modular

People Development Award

  • Eiffage Kier – people development for existing and future workforce
  • ENGIE Learning and Development
  • Willmott Dixon

SME of the Year Award

  • Hindley Contractors
  • Pro Build360
  • RMF Installation & Services Ltd

Sustainability Award

  • Cundall 2020 – the year of net zero carbon – Cundall
  • Passiv Innovations – Breathable Larsen Truss Panel Technology , WB Timber Innovations Ltd,
  • Wyckham Blackwell Ltd, Crendon Timber Engineering Ltd, SmartRoof
  • Tanworth Lane Dementia and Extra Care Unit – One Creative Environments Ltd (one), Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council (SMBC), Speller Metcalfe
  • University of Warwick Sports and Wellness Hub – Willmott Dixon, University of Warwick

Value Award

  • Beatrice Shilling Building – Speller Metcalfe, Coventry University, BroadwayMalyan, Glancy Nicholls, CWA, Nolan Associates
  • Tanworth Court Dementia Care Home- Building Design Studio- Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council (SMBC) Adult Care & Support Directorate
  • University of Warwick Sports and Wellness Hub- Willmott Dixon, University of Warwick, David Morley Architects, Warwick Sports, Hadron Consulting

Headline Sponsor

View all sponsors >>

Awards Online

We are pleased to announce that the CE West Midlands will now take place online on 4th December 2020 at 2pm

We hope you will be able to join us and celebrate the achievements of all our shortlisted projects.


Industry Partners

Constructing Excellence Midlands Logo

Contact Us:

Constructing Excellence South West
Rook Lane Chapel
BA11 1DN

Connect with us:

©2020 Website Build by Brace Creative Agency